A cool use for QR codes.

23Mar11

QR codes are picking up steam as a marketing tactic. So far I’ve mostly seen them used in gimmicky ways to link to video content. But when I was in Austin the other week, I found one of the most useful applications for QR codes I’d ever seen.
I was in a Tex-Mex restaurant called Gueros for lunch. The waitress brought me my bill along with a comment card. I didn’t have a pen on me, and all the waitresses were super busy. Normally, I simply would not have filled out the card, but then I noticed a QR code. (See above.) A quick scan with my phone and I was directed to a website that offered me the opportunity to fill out the same card online. It was quick, easy, and something I wouldn’t normally have done otherwise. I even got a follow-up email thanking me and pledging more great service.
QR codes as utility. Love it.
2 Responses to “A cool use for QR codes.”

  1. This is one of the better uses that I have seen!

  2. I have to admit that’s one of the better uses of QR codes. Some would just use them for loyalty programs, especially restaurants!



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

