Sexy is as sexy does.

07Jan10

I’m not sure what I love more about this vintage Brylcreem ad – the fact that they actually think the guys on the right are “sexy” or the awesome long copy that you just don’t see any more. You can almost hear the copywriter typing away on a typewriter as he makes his fifth revision, perfecting a line like “Brylcreem believes that sexy is as sexy does.”

Via.

3 Responses to “Sexy is as sexy does.”

  1. 1 Dennis

    I remember carefully reading every word of that copy when I was a kid looking through my dad’s Sports Illustrated magazines. For the life of me, I couldn’t grasp how the right side was “sexy” and the left “not sexy”. My assumption was: Blue Collar = Not Sexy. White Collar = Sexy. But I read it and I remember it. That’s more than I can say about the other 99% of all ads I’ve ever seen.

  2. 2 dognpony

    Dennis, that’s awesome.

    Who says no one reads long copy ads? I certainly read this one.

  3. Thank you, Matt. Someday it’s all going to come around again – long copy, whatever the hell font that is, and jingles. I, for one, can’t wait.



