People don’t read long copy.

05Mar10

It always cracks me up when someone tries to tell me that people don’t read long copy. My pithy answer is always “People read books, don’t they?” My deeper answer is “People read things that interest or entertain them, and sometimes that’s an ad.” And the perfect proof of that is the Nancy Boy website.

Just check out the description of their face cream. It’s honest, funny and makes you like them as a company. Oh, and it gives you clear cut reasons to buy the product, too.

Great writing – no matter how long it is.

5 Responses to “People don’t read long copy.”

  1. 1 OlympiaRules

    I’m outing your source:
    “The real fact of the matter is that nobody reads ads. People read what interests them. Sometimes it’s an ad.” ~ Howard Gossage

  2. 2 dognpony

    Exactly! I should have quoted him directly. That’s one of my favorite quotes.

  3. Usually, the people who insist that no one reads body copy don’t have a point of view that’d be worth reading.

    The example I used once was Harry Potter. It’s some serious long copy–and people couldn’t wait to get each new novel. If only advertising could be that interesting.

    http://www.talentzoo.com/news.php/Harry-Potter-and-the-Obtuse-Client/?articleID=112

  4. Only an illiterate or dull person would not read a good read.

    By the way, one of the seriously super-wow pieces of long copy I’ve read recently is a legal document! It is here… http://www.divx.com/en/privacy-policy

    (What can I say, I have a rather eccentric reading habit!)

  5. You’re right on the money!

    Of course people read long copy… IF they’re interested enough in reading it.

    Same applies to SHORT copy, doesn’t it?

    I don’t care if my ad contains just 20 words. Fact is, if you’re not interested, you’re not interested!

    BOTTOM-LINE: It’s NOT the length… it’s the INTEREST!

    Of course, well-written copy can help KEEP them interested, but they have to have at least SOME interest of their own.

    This topic was important enough for me to write an entire section on it in my book “Cashvertising.” And one thing’s for sure: there will NEVER be a shortage of people willing to debate you on the topic!

    Keep up the great writing!

    Sincerely,
    Drew Eric Whitman, D.R.S.
    Direct Response Surgeon(tm)



