It’s baseball season… unfortunately.

12Apr10

I’ve worked on a baseball account, so I know the challenges – players who can’t (or don’t want to) deliver a line, limited budgets, limited access to stars and for some reason a strange habit of wanting to focus on the stadium and not the game or the team. So when Rumbunter.com complied its list of the Top Ten MLB Team Commercials for 2010, I didn’t have high hopes. And I was right.

The A’s stuff is decent. At least it focuses on the players. As does the should-be-funnier Mariners spots. And the Twins spot isn’t horrible, although it doesn’t really make me want to go see a game. Then it goes downhill from there.

There’s the weird Pirates spot that focuses more on the Super Bowl than it does baseball, the horrible, horrible Mets spot from a campaign that I’ve ripped on before, and some truly embarrassing Rockies commercials.

Sigh… A MLB team should be a prime account. Why are they usually such duds?

