Is “green” actually bad for the environment?

20Apr10

In the rush to label everything possible as “green,” companies have overused to death the actual color green. If I had a dime for every time I saw a leaf tacked onto some sustainable product, I’d have enough money to save all the drowning polar bears or something. But here’s some irony for you: Using the color green in printing may actually be bad for the environment.

Now I’ll take this article with a grain of organic salt. It’s so full of qualifiers as to be nearly meaningless. “Can be” “could be” “some” “might” – it’s all such non-definite reporting that I can’t decide one way or the other if it’s true. But at the very least, it’s one more reason why sustainable products should stop using such a clichéd color.

