David Dyer responds.

18Aug10

Yesterday, I posted about a kid who stole web design work from one of my friends (and multiple other people) and passed it off as his own. After a Twitter campaign to shame him, he simply deleted his Twitter account and made his Linkedin profile private.

And then I got an email from him:

Hey Matt,

This is completely a misunderstanding, I never meant to steal you or your friend’s design. Awhile back I was teaching myself Dreamweaver along with css designs/layouts. I came across your site and loved the design, and wanted to practice reverse-engineering and see if I could build a layout like that of my own. I used all of the same assets and made a few copy changes. I have never had the intention of using this site as my portfolio page nor have I advertised it anywhere or to anyone. I have no experience in the web/graphic design world; I was simply trying to play around with mockups. I’m not sure how you found it but I’m assuming google along with other search engines grabbed it. I sincerely apologize for any stress that this has caused you or your friends. The site is in the process of being taken down.

Now that my name has been ruined on Twitter, that account has been deleted. I would appreciate it if you would take down the blog entry “David M Dyer is a thief”, as this is simply a misunderstanding. Thank You.

David, I appreciate the email, but I have one word for you: bullshit.

Your site is titled “David Dyer – Web Design Portfolio.” Hardly something you’d push live if you “never had the intention of using this site as my portfolio page.” You can also learn CSS and Dreamweaver without pushing pages live. And in fact, the way you learn Dreamweaver is to create assets yourself and figure out how to assemble them. You don’t just copy and paste someone else’s work and tweak a few lines of copy. Speaking of copy – if you were just goofing around, you wouldn’t write about one of the sites you ripped off, “I created a very simplictic, yet modern-looking design using a lot of white area and minimilistic assets. The photos were given to me in a very large format, where I made them web-friendly and proceeded to categorize them.” You also want us to believe you have “no experience in the web/graphic design world” except on your Linkedin profile you claim in your last job you did Web Design Layout and Graphic Design.

But the biggest reason I know you’re full of it is on your Linkedin page you have a live link to “My Website” that takes you to the very page you claim you have not advertised to anyone anywhere.

UPDATE: Looks like he’s already taken the “My Website” link off his Linkedin profile. Except David, you realize Google caches everything and your old profile with the link is here.

David, look, we all know what happened. You desperately wanted to be a web designer but either didn’t have the talent or didn’t want to put in the work to get a better job. So you took a shortcut and ripped off a site design from some designer who lives in Colombia who you thought would never notice. Then you stole a small winery website way on the west coast. Then an Italian fashion photographer. And then another and another who you thought would never catch up to you. But that’s not the way the internet works these days.

Both creatives who ripped off my work had lame excuses like yours, too. But the reality is, you ripped off people’s work and now you’re paying the price. And if you still want to claim you never advertised your site to anyone? Then please send us the email of your boss and we’ll ask them what you used to get a job at the Wynn.

9 Responses to “David Dyer responds.”

  1. 1 Nicole

    And don’t forget his profile on vworker as alias “doyoudave” where he says, and I quote, “visit my portfolio” and then puts the link to the portfolio site with the stolen work…the one he says he never advertised as such. What a liar. He should have just apologized to the talented designers he ripped off.

  2. 3 Nicholas

    I’m not about to suggest that the intersection of the Internet and advertising people is going to yield a lot of integrity — or anything resembling shame, for that matter — but this latest still surprises me.

    Matt, your response is dead to rights. He’s doubling down here, and I doubt he’d like it should you follow through on your challenge regarding Wynn. I’m not particularly interested in him losing his job, but I’m pretty keen to see some assurance that he’s going to grow up.

  3. 4 dognpony

    Agreed. Whether he’s just a kid or not, he knew what he was doing. And then to make it worse, like you pointed out – he doubled down on his lie, which shows me he certainly hasn’t learned his lesson.

    David, if you’re reading this (and I know you will), you’re not getting out of this one. It’s the internet – nothing ever goes away. So you can delete all the profiles you want, and refuse to apologize and come clean, but the proof of what you did will always be there.

    It’s better for you to fess up, take the punishment in the short term (even if that means losing your Wynn job), learn your lesson and move on.

  4. 5 cruey

    as a side note, when people “practice” with mock-ups they use lorem ipsum. they don’t talk about themselves, link to “sites they’ve worked on,” and write detailed explanations about each site they “worked” on. just saying.

  5. I don’t think I’ll ever understand how people think they’ll get away with stuff like this. The internet makes it easier than ever to fact check and spot fakes. It’s not even worth the risk; from this post, his name is tarnished on the internet forever (or for a very long time). It’s way too bad there are people out there who can’t find jobs with their own work when slimeballs like this kid get hired by stealing from others.

  6. People certainly don’t get away with this and some folks commenting here know me in real life to confirm that I have the chops. But in the interest of the matter and hopefully a lesson to this kid that now has a ruined reputation.. I am going to cut myself open as I made a similar mistake. To be candid, I openly admit that I inspired (and i use that term generously) my site design off an old coworkers (whom i highly respect) as I had to get it done in a pinch: (And I got caught.. more on that later)

    Here.. see for yourself:

    http://www.bart4president.com
    http://rolloverformore.com

    While some of the things are original.. its pretty darn clear there are some striking similarities.

    There is NO excuse for what I did but if you wanted one.. it would be that I needed a fast and clever design to get my work put out there as I had just got laid off from my past employer and bills needed to be paid. I was in a fritz to get something up in one weekend but was hitting a wall. So I screen grabbed rolloverformore.com and tried to come up with something that ultimately made itself an imitation. So I can understand venturing into darker choices out of necessity but like I said.. there is no excuse.. and Karma does come back to haunt you. Read on.

    So what happened?

    I got called out on it. Gabe emailed me a few months later after googling me with a “wtf dude.. really?” and what did I do in response?? I immediately called him.. apologized for my actions and swallowed my pride.. and that was a tough pill to swallow. Here.. an award winning flash artist getting busted by someone I knew for in so many ways ripping off his ideas.. i was even too lazy to figure new copy embarassingly. But.. in the end we discussed it and he appreciated me not giving any fuss or excuse and encouraged me to keep the design after I opted to change it (as rolloverformore was pretty out of date) but left me with a parting note to come up with something more original next time.

    So David.. if you are reading this .. here is a guy.. thats successful in his craft but did something not too much different than what you did. I got caught on it.. but I did the right thing and NOT LIE about it, apologize and even.. openly talk about it to the public like I am doing now. Its a lesson I learned painfully as you are learning yours. But in the end I believe I did the right thing and things worked out. I encourage you to do the same.

    BTW.. why do I still have it up? 2 reasons.. 1) I have Gabe’s permission and 2) I want to keep it there to remind myself of that lesson every time I look at it.

    Hope you learned something Kid.

  7. 8 Julie_W

    Dearest David,

    The fact that you can’t take responsibility for your actions by admitting guilt is only causing you further damage by creating more hostility among people like me who take what you did personally.

    Trying to profit from others hard earned designs and claiming them for your own & then only worrying about your tarnished or as you put it, “ruined” name is called psychopathic behavior, making you a sociopath.

    There is help for that and I suggest you seek it.

    Julie

  8. 9 dognpony

    I think what appalls me most about this whole fiasco is the brazen way he did it.

    We’ve all looked through an advertising annual an thought about “borrowing” an idea. Some people like Bart (above) have copied a design in a moment of desperation. But David did something completely different.

    Not only did he outright steal another designer’s site – he couldn’t even be bothered to try and turn it into his own thing. And then on top of that, he was so lazy he didn’t even try to make things like the email form work.

    That alone would be premeditated enough. But he went even further.

    He ripped off every single piece of creative shown in the portfolio. That’s not a moment of desperation. That’s a fully thought-out strategy to steal from other designers and to try and defraud potential employers into hiring him.

    And of course on top of it all, he thought we were all idiots – too stupid to quickly check his claims of a “misunderstanding.” Too stupid to notice that at the bottom of the Jax Vineyard site it says it was done by Nicholas Macias. And too stupid to save the evidence before he could rush around and delete it.

    Bart’s advice to David is spot on. I just have zero faith that David is man enough to step up and do it.



