Sacramento Kings – Here we rise

24Sep10

I posted the other day that I’ve been a Kings fan since they first moved to Sacramento, but as far as advertising goes, they’ve never really done much of note. And while I like the thought behind their new “Here we rise” campaign, the execution is practically channeling Hal Riney from the mid-80s – but not as good.

The video above is just so schmaltzy. And the idea of creating a “Here we rise” billboard from user photos comes from software created in the late 90s.

Kings, please hire a credible ad agency who can raise the level of your advertising like we hope the team is raising its level of play. (And if you need a new ad agency, email me. You’re a dream client for me. Seriously, I still own a 1985 press guide I got as a Jr. High sports editor of the newspaper.)

