Here’s how I know another tech bubble is coming.

04Oct10

This is the single dumbest thing I’ve heard in months. A company called Venmo has announced a new app – Gifi – that lets you leave your money in places for your friends to find when they check in via Foursquare.

If your response is the same “WTF – who the hell would just leave their own money around for their friends?” that I had, then read on.

“Users can link their bank accounts or credit cards to Gifi to leave money at any Foursquare check-in location, with the option of writing a clue for their friends to help find the hidden booty. Users can also write a message to the finder after they discover the cash.”

Because we all have so much cash we’ll just freely give it to our friends for a stupid Foursquare game. I mean really, who would possibly do this? I’m still trying to get my brain around the geniuses who greenlighted this ridiculous app.

And how do I know there’s a tech bubble coming? Venmo has raised $1.2 million for this app development since January. I wish I could place bets on this app not being around in 18 months. What a joke.

