The virtue of versatility.

14Oct10
In advertising, I see art director and copywriter books all the time where everything looks similar. They have a style. And while a certain style can be a good thing, I’ve always prided myself on not having a style – I adapt my writing to whatever tone fits each specific client.
Now check out the two spots above. Would you believe they were directed by the same guy? Noam Murro is about as versatile as you get. It takes a special skill to direct epic action spots like Halo and another set of skills to do something as subtle as this AT&T spot. That versatility has obviously served him well and if there are three things I could tell every young creative to have a long career in advertising they’d be: 1. Work your ass off; 2. You can always do better; and 3. Be versatile.
