Great commercial by… Microsoft?

09Nov10
I’ve been seeing this spot all over recently and I actually really like it. The guy dropping the phone in the urinal makes me laugh every time – which is a tall order for a commercial. Some of the scenarios are better than others, but as a whole, I think the concept and execution is really well done.
Then I see who it’s from.
Does anyone really think Microsoft Windows can make a better phone than the iPhone? Or make a phone that actually works at all? Microsoft, you’re going to have to do a lot more than just make a nice commercial for me to believe.
Side note: A couple friends I talked to hated the “Really?” line because they thought it was a rip-off of Seth Meyers on Saturday Night Live. I didn’t make that connection though. Did you? Thoughts?
3 Responses to “Great commercial by… Microsoft?”

  1. This is the first spot in ages from MSFT that I thought nailed the mark. Whether it’s true or trading on a cliche punchline, the messaging point completely resonated with me, unlike “Windows was my idea” or business people being dinosaurs.

  2. 2 Heath

    Might have been nice to find some alternate lines rather than repeat the same one, which is why I thought it was borrowing on the SNL News bit.

    The gag is great, but making a better phone interface will not make you use it less. Quite the opposite. Hence ATT’s network being crippled by the popularity of the iPhone.

  3. 3 Matt

    I hate the Seth Meyers line because it’s a rip-off of Jerry Seinfeld. But yes. It would help if they actually convinced us that a Windows phone is worth purchasing. But still a well done spot.



