I love it when people call BS on jargon.

23Feb11

There are very few things I hate more than marketing jargon. One of them is when marketing people use that very jargon to try and convince people they know what the hell they’re talking about. This video from PhD is a perfect example.

It’s jargon from the first word to the last, full of phrases I wish I’d never hear again, like “Social Graph” and “Augmented Reality will be the NEW reality!”

Excuse me while I throw up in my mouth a little.

But the heartwarming part of all this is that those who viewed the video, didn’t fall for all the false intellectualism and bullshit. If you want a good read, check out the video’s comments. A small sampling:

“If you work in marketing, kill yourself. If you made this video, kill yourself twice.”

“Word cannot describe how disgusting this video is. In 2021 I’m going to show my yet to be born children this and hope that we will be able to laugh at how wrong you are. I’d love to see the meetings that lead up to this video, if the end product is this amazingly trite I’d love to know what the original concept was like. Utterly reprehensible, pretty much sums up everything I hate about marketing.”

“If you work in marketing, it’s probably never occurred to you that nobody outside of marketing ever uses the phrases “data aggregator”, “navigate reality”, influencing and purchasing data”, “tailored content”, “social graphs” or “social APIs”. That’s the most excruciating two minutes I’ve spent looking at a screen in a long time. I’m now off to vomit for several hours.”

