The most impressive man I’ve ever met.

07Mar11

I’ve told a lot of people this story, but here goes again: Out of all the athletes and celebrities I’ve ever worked with, Muhammad Ali was by far and away the most impressive person I’ve met. He had an aura about him that was unlike anyone else. I think you could have blindfolded me and I could have told you when he walked into the room. And beyond all that, he was funny, amazingly nice, and just a truly genuine human being.

That’s one of the reasons I’m really digging this art installation by artist Michael Kalish. He used “1,300 punching bags, 6.5 miles of stainless steel cable, and 2,500 pounds of aluminum pipe to construct a 22-foot-high installation that took three years to complete”

“The idea for the project came to Kalish as he was falling asleep one night in 2008: an array of custom-made, teardrop-shaped speed bags suspended in midair that, from just one vantage point, align themselves like pixels into an image of Ali’s face.”

